AFA - Asociación Física Argentina

ICTP-SAIFR/FAPESP Postdoctoral positions in theoretical physics

Publicado em 06 julho 2021

The ICTP South American Institute for Fundamental Research (ICTP-SAIFR,, located at the campus of the Instituto de Física Teórica (IFT-UNESP) in Sao Paulo, announces the opening of three FAPESP one-year postdoctoral positions to begin in 2021 or early 2022.

It is expected that successful postdoctoral researchers will be able to extend the positions for up to 3 years. These positions will be filled in areas including astrophysics, complex systems with applications to biology, condensed matter theory, cosmology and general relativity, gravitational waves, mathematical physics, theoretical and experimental particle physics, physics of cold atoms, QCD and hadronic physics, and string theory.

The FAPESP postdoctoral fellowships pay an annual tax-free salary of 86,000 Brazilian reais as well as moving costs and 12,900 Brazilian reais/year for travel and research expenses. In addition, postdocs will receive funds from ICTP-SAIFR to invite visiting collaborators and organize activities.

Review of applications will begin in August 2021 and will continue until all positions have been filled. Although there is no strict deadline, applications before August 10, 2021 are strongly recommended for positions to begin in 2021 or 2022. Candidates can apply by filling out the online application form at

ICTP-SAIFR is a South American regional center for theoretical physics created through a collaboration of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics in Trieste (ICTP) with the São Paulo Research Funding Agency (FAPESP) and São Paulo State University (UNESP), and is located at the Instituto de Física Teórica (IFT-UNESP) campus in the center of São Paulo. ICTP-SAIFR has visitor exchange agreements with CEA-Saclay, CERN, Fermilab, IFISC-UIB, KITP, Mainz ITP, Nordita, Perimeter and the ICTP in Trieste, and has a well-funded visitor program with frequent seminars, schools and workshops in all areas of theoretical physics.

Postdocs will be expected to collaborate with ICTP-SAIFR associated researchers located at IFT-UNESP and nearby universities that include:

Astrophysics/Cosmology/Gravitational Waves – Raul Abramo (IFUSP), Marcos Lima (IFUSP), Rodrigo Nemmen (IAG-USP), Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino (IAG-USP), Farinaldo Queiroz (ICTP-SAIFR/IIP-Natal), Rogério Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Riccardo Sturani (ICTP-SAIFR/IIP-Natal);

Complex Systems with applications to biology – Marcus Aguiar (Unicamp), Hilda Cerdeira (IFT-UNESP), Roberto Kraenkel (IFT-UNESP), Ricardo Martinez-Garcia (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Paulo Prado (IB-USP);

Condensed Matter and Cold Atom Physics – Sadhan Adhikari (IFT-UNESP), Alexandre Rocha (IFT-UNESP);

String Theory – Nathan Berkovits (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP), Andrei Mikhailov (IFT-UNESP), Horatiu Nastase (IFT-UNESP), Victor Rivelles (IFUSP), Diego Trancanelli (IFUSP), Pedro Vieira (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP/Perimeter).

Theoretical and Experimental Particle Physics – Gustavo Burdman (IFUSP), Oscar Éboli (IFUSP), Gastão Krein (IFT-UNESP), Ricardo Matheus (IFT-UNESP), Sergio Novaes (NCC-UNESP/IFT-UNESP), Rogério Rosenfeld (ICTP-SAIFR/IFT-UNESP).